First Baptist Church
Service Times

Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday -
Early Morning Prayer 6:30 a.m.

Sunday: Morning Prayer 8:30am
Sunday: Church School 9:00am
Sunday: Worship Service 10:15am

Wed : Evening Prayer 5:45 p.m.

Five Ministry Pillars

(Reverend Dr. Betty H. Long, Director)

Contact Person
Audio-Visual Ministry Brother John Brooks
Greeters Ministry Deacon James Jackson
Junior Ushers Sister Theora Rankins
Senior Ushers Deacon Sherman Brown
Celestial School of the Arts Dr. Effie Gardner, Director
Music Committee Dr. Jean Braxton, Chair
Albert H. Holder Men’s Choir Brother Leroy Samuel
Anointed Vessels Youth Choir  
Gospel Choir Sister Yvette Person
Divine Inspiration - Liturgical Dancers Sister Tammy Jackson
Praise in Motion – Liturgical Dancers Dr. Jean Braxton
Wings of Praise – Liturgical Dancers Sister Willodene Scott
Platinum, Silver & Gold – Liturgical Dancers Deacon Eve Hasket
Christian Fellowship Choir Deacon James E Robinson, III
Praise Team Choir  
Praise Band  
Angel Choir Dr. Effie Gardner
Handbell Choir Dr. Effie Gardner
Sanctuary Bells Choir Dr. Effie Gardner
Speak Life Drama Ministry Sister Sherrian Banks
Visual Arts & Photography Deacon Richard Press
Events Coordinator Brother Tony Eaton
FBC MASS Choir Dr. Effie Gardner
Announcement Ministry Sister Sherrian Banks
Parking Ministry Deacon James Jackson
Prayer Cell Ministry Sister Vernell Patrick
Auxiliary to the Deacons Sister Dorothy Croslin
Decoration Ministry Sister Audrey Greenlee

(Deacon Willie C Anderson, Director)

Contact Person
AB/Men’s Action Fellowship Deacon Gordon White
FBCH Marriage Enrichment Ministry Rev. Michael & Sis.Beverly Williams
Deacon Wallace C. Arnold
Wedding Committee Sister Chelsea Williams
Deacon Ann Davis
Chesapeake Club Sister Shirley Oliver
EnPowered Senior’s Ministry Sister Susan Nichols
Food Service Volunteers Sister LaVerne Douglas
Food Service Ministry Mother Louise Williams
Kid’s Cove Sister Tracie Walker
Youth Ministry Deacon Sherman Brown
First Church Aid Club Sister Mildred Spencer
Single’s Ministry/SPARCS Deacon Earl Chaplin
Sister Lillian Bright
Sister Ashlee Faison
Women’s Ministry Trustee Linda Taylor
Pastoral Relations Deacon Willie C. Anderson
Recreation Ministry Deacon Willie C. Anderson
Sister Sue Ricks
Sister Jacqueline Smith
Girl Scouts Sister Tamara Jackson
Church Outing Sister Jessie Ellis

(Sister Gale Pearson, Director; Sister Sharon Wilson, Assistant Director)

Contact Person
FBC Institute of Biblical Studies Sister Gale Pearson
Rites of Passage Sister Kathy Rozier
Church History and Archives Sister Sadie Eleazer
Media/Library Committee Sister Sadie Eleazer

Church School
Sister Gale Pearson
Deacon Vera Powell
Vacation Bible School Sister Gale Pearson
Newsletter Sister Sadie Eleazer
Wednesdays in the Word  

Bulletin Board Ministry
Sisters Sharon Wilson
Sister Sherrian Banks

Social Action
(Deacon Wendell Braxton, Director; Deacon Vera Powell, Assistant Director)

Contact Person
Christmas Children’s Project Deacon Vera Powell
Easter Shoe Shop Deacon Vera Powell
Thanksgiving Project Deacon Vera Powell
School Supply Project Deacon Vera Powell
Mission Fund Committee Deacon Earl Chaplin
Emergency Benevolence Fund Deacon Dink Cohen
Deacon Sherman Brown
Health Care & Nursing Circle Dr. Artis Croslin
Goodwill Circle Deacon Dink Cohen
Disability Awareness Sister Cathy Northan

(Minister Larry Gibson, Assistant Director)

Contact Person
JC Patterson Missionary Society Sister Carole Floyd
Transportation Ministry Deacon William Hooper
Tutorial Outreach Minister Larry Gibson
Helping Hands Deacon James Jackson
SHARE Sister Sadie Eleazer
A Night’s Welcome Deacon James Jackson
Bereavement Ministry Reverend Delrose C. Reynolds-Porter
Communications Work Group Sister Dianne Randall-Foster